22
Aug
10

8/22/2010

Window Light

Happy Sunday!  I am composing this on a Thursday morning in England, as Sunday morning will find me at the British Birding Fair already at this time. This is another shot from my late rainy evening stroll through old town Wetzlar. One of the reasons I like the old town is that it is full of little corners like this one, along a narrow (10 feet wide at most) cobbled street between half-timbered buildings dating from the 1500’s. I like the contrast of the blue wall, with its interesting texture and the bright red and green geraniums. The golden glow of the light behind the pebbled glass window completes the picture for me.

Windows are always interesting to me as photographic elements, and I have noticed among photographers  a similar fascination (among my flickr friends at least…one of my most visited images is a window shot).

For me it is about what they reveal and what they hide. They are meant to provide a view from within and light from without, for those who live inside. But they also. of course, provide a view of the life within to those who are outside. Jesus has something to say about that…about eyes as windows, and about the light that should shine out of them. The title of my SmugMug site comes from one of those passages. I hope my windows show at least such a golden glow on a late rainy evening…even if they are too often, just as obscuring as this one.

This took considerable distortion and perspective tweaking in Lightroom since I shot it an odd oblique angle (to chatch the light in the window). Then my standard Blackpoint, Clarity, Vibrance and Sharpen.

From Germany and England 2010.

7 Responses to “8/22/2010”


  1. 1 susan
    08/22/2010 at 2:00 pm

    I like this shot. I, too, like windows. I think there is something about they way they frame in a picture and make other elements stand out, like the flowers here.

  2. 08/22/2010 at 2:13 pm

    Beautiful composition!!!

  3. 08/22/2010 at 2:14 pm

    Nice shot. I would like to go there and take photos myself.

  4. 4 Rafi
    08/22/2010 at 2:23 pm

    Love the simplicity..

  5. 5 Debbie
    08/22/2010 at 5:24 pm

    I think this is one of my favorites. Very simple, very perfect.

  6. 6 joe giambelluca
    08/22/2010 at 6:42 pm

    I like this picture more than the rest. jbuca

  7. 08/23/2010 at 3:52 pm

    Simple, beautiful colours and texture.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

