12
Jan
09

1/12/2009

Winter

Winter

I took a short walk in the woods in the fresh fallen snow…still falling snow actually. Not much to see. The light was subdued to say the best, but I wanted to get out in it before flying to Florida this morning.

I took some shots of my tracks in the deep snow, and a few of the river, but this tree really caught my attention. Something about the texture of the bark and the clinging snow, and the arrangement of the trunks.

Sony DSC H50 with the zoom at about 40mm equiv. for framing. F4.0 @ 1/250th @ ISO 100. Programed Auto.

In Lightroom, I was experimenting with the Auto Tone button. It increased exposure slightly, and raised the Black point, and decreased contrast. All in all I liked the effect. I increased Black point slightly more. Added Clarity and Vibrance, and used the Landscape sharpen preset.

The image is found in the Winter Weather Gallery.

Leave a Reply

