21
Jan
09

1/21/2009

Mangrove Marsh

Mangrove Marsh

Taken from the platform in yesterday’s Pic of the Day. The elevated position, 12 feet off the waterline, provides an interesting perspective for this traditionally composed landscape. Traditional because the horizon at the upper Rule of Thirds horizon line. The strong diagonal of the mangroves along the dike at the left, and the gentler, less geometric land mass at the right, lead the eye toward the horizon. Weedy growth in the foreground adds interest, without masking the cloud reflections, which add a feeling of just how big the landscape is. And the clouds themselves recede to the true horizon beyond the mangroves making the landscape huge!

Now, if you think I thought all that while taking the pic, then you give me credit for a level of cognition that I just don’t possess. I was conscious enough to place the horizon where I wanted it, and I suppose I must have seen the bold diagonal on the left…other than that I just knew I liked what I was seeing in the viewfinder.

But I like the image more than its content might warrant, so I have to think about why…and that first paragraph is me analyzing why.

Sony DSC H50 at full wide (31mm equiv.) F5.6 @ 1/320th @ ISO 100. Programed Auto.

In Lightroom, the image required some Recovery for the sky to recapture cloud detail, a bit of Vibrance and Clarity for overall effect, and the Sharpen Landscape preset. The image really came alive though when I applied a bit of Fill Light to open the shadows under the mangrove hedge on the left and to pick up the intensity of the dark green mangrove leaves on the right.

A word on the Sharpen landscape preset. I use it all the time, not because I am lazy, but because it works really well, and because it is a combination of the Sharpen sliders (Amount, Radius, Detail, and Masking) that I would never have hit on if left to my own devices. (And maybe I am a tad lazy. When it works I don’t feel the need to fix it.)

The image is from the Space Coast Birding Gallery.

1 Response to “1/21/2009”


  1. 01/22/2009 at 5:26 am

    Very interesting material. Podskazhiet pozhaylutsa how to subscribe to your new material, we do not want to miss something fresh. Thank you

    Sincerely George


Leave a Reply

