24
Feb
09

2/24/2009

Blind

Blind

Bosque del Apache in one of may favorite places for bird photography: in November. A trip down while in Albuquerque this past week was, not exactly disappointing (Bosque will never disappoint) but a lot more subdued than I expected. Most of the wintering birds had left and the summer (breeding) birds have not arrived. Very slow on the tour loop.

This image presented itself at the photo blind (in lue of the birds I suppose). I had almost walked away without taking anything, in my focus on what I expected to see, when stepped back a really looked at what was there. I should learn to do that more often.

I was not sure I could get satisfying focus on both the wood of the frame and the view beyond without resorting to Program Shift, but the first exposure on Programed Auto looked fine on the lcd and turned out to be almost exactly what I envisioned.

In post processing, I noticed the shadow of the tree on the water…that makes the image, and I was, at best, only partially conscious of it while shooting.

Sony DSC H50 at full wide (31mm equivalent). F5.6 @ 1/640th @ ISO 100. Programed Auto.

Vibrance and Clarity in the Presence panel and Landscape sharpen…but I also use Fill Light to lighten the shadow on the wood and reveal more of the detail there.

From Bosque del Apache

2 Responses to “2/24/2009”


  1. 02/24/2009 at 8:47 am

    Beautiful shot, I haven’t been to Bosque Del Apache in many years. It’s nice to have a reminder of what a magical place it is. -Noel Taussig

  2. 2 LCD
    02/25/2009 at 6:37 am

    thanks, your article is very informative.


Leave a Reply

