06
Mar
09

3/6/2009

Downtown Carinish

Downtown Carinish

Just down the road from the Bed and Breakfast where we stayed on North Uist in the Hebrides. Could not resist. Something more than a snapshot, but snapshotish certainly. Still makes me smile.

It is an awkward composition, a bit. I normally would not have placed the phone booth that close to the frame, or the sheep either…but I wanted to emphasize the juxtaposition. I think it works.

Sony DSC H50 zoomed in to about 85mm equivalent. F5.6 @ 1/400 @ ISO 100. Programmed Auto.

In Lightroom, Recovery for the sky, some added Presence, via Clarity and Vibrance sliders. Landscape sharpen preset.

From Scotland.

 

PS.

 

A bit more Lighroom Work

A bit more Lighroom Work

Okay. So I was always bothered  by the burned out white on the sheep’s back, and some found the sky to bright. Recently I have begun experimenting with Lightroom’s graduated filter effect, so I had to try that on the sky. And I also applied Lightroom’s Adjustment brush to reduce the brightness of the burned out area on the sheep’s back. And so…

3 Responses to “3/6/2009”


  1. 03/06/2009 at 9:43 am

    I love the phone box in what seems to be a field. Cool shot.

    There is a lone phone box on an isolated stretch of road on the Isle of Mull — it was featured in an old film (I know where I’m going). We had to visit it of course!

  2. 2 Julie
    03/06/2009 at 10:02 am

    That sheep looks like it leaned up against the wet paint on the box. This picture is great. I love the humor.

  3. 3 Chris
    03/06/2009 at 6:16 pm

    Damn I was gonna use the word juxtapostion… ah well, I do love how the broken down box is close to the sheep…. almost like nature is winning again mankind. I would clone out the telphone wires/posts but thats just because I am becoming a photoshop junky!


Leave a Reply

