22
Mar
09

3/22/2009

Stroked by the sea

Stroked by the sea

A break from Scotland.

Went to the beach yesterday to test my new toy: the Sony Webbie HD camercorder/camera. While there I got fascinated by what the tide had done to the seaweed clinging to the rocks now above tide-line. Abstract, but completely real. These kinds of small details always interest me. I honestly don’t know how interesting they are to others, but I love to capture them.

For this image I found a small light colored snippet to place at one of the powerpoints in the image, hopefully to give the eye something to latch on to and make sense of the whole image.

To give you a sense of scale, the light snippet is about 1/3 of an inch long.

Sony DSC H50 full wide (31mm equivalent). F5.6 @ 1/320th @ ISO 100. Programed Auto. Macro mode.

In Lightroom, a touch of Recovery. Some Clarity and Vibrance. Portrait sharpen preset.

From Around Home.

1 Response to “3/22/2009”


  1. 03/22/2009 at 5:39 am

    Steve,
    I find this picture fascinating. I, too, have on occasion taken similar pictures, but mine do not have the interest that I see in yours. I immediately noticed the white object, and my thought was “How lucky he was to have that item available. I would never have thought of placing it there. At least I don’t think I would have, but it certainly helps. You have inspired me to try a few pictures of my own. Gordon


Leave a Reply

