29
Mar
09

3/29/2009

Monumental Shell

Monumental Shell

As I have mentioned before, one of the features I like best about the H9/H50 cameras from Sony is the tilt out articulated LCD. It allows getting right down on the ground for images without actually laying down. It allows upward angles from ground level (something that is difficult even if you do lay down). In this case, laying down was not really an option unless I was willing to get wet all over.

When you combine the articulated LCD with a very close macro ability, all kinds of new photographic options open up.

Just a shell on the beach, becomes a monument to shelldom.

Sony DSC H9 at full wide (32mm equivalent). F5.0 @ 1/200 @ ISO 100. Programed Auto. Macro mode.

In Lightroom, basic processing for Presence and sharpness. Recovery and some Fill Light was used to aid the transparency of the water. I used a graduated filter effect to further darken the sky, and added a bit of saturation to the filter as well. Levels were adjusted to bright up the lights +60 and subdue the darks -20. (It is maybe important to mention again that though it sounds like a lot of manipulation in Lightroom, I spent less than 3 minutes on this image in post…Lightroom is very fast.)

From Around Home.

7 Responses to “3/29/2009”


  1. 03/29/2009 at 5:50 am

    Steve,

    What a stunning shot! Makes a small shell seem to big, but so lonely on that big beach all at the same time.

    Tracy

  2. 03/29/2009 at 5:51 am

    sorry -meant SO big instead of to big!

  3. 03/29/2009 at 6:49 am

    Beautiful shot. I love the angle and the way you made a simple shell on the beach so much more than that. Thanks for sharing your amazing photos.

  4. 4 purplesnowflake
    03/29/2009 at 10:10 pm

    I love your photos and esp. this one!!!! Simply stunning! 🙂

  5. 5 birdingperu
    03/29/2009 at 11:59 pm

    Hi Steve.
    Like your new picture of the day blog. I want to subscribe to the RSS feed. How do I do that? I am already subscribing to your point and shoor blog on http://psland.lightshedder.com/

    If you want to add my blog to your reader (I do recommend Google Reader , but you probably already know what great resource that is in order follow a large number of blogs) here is my blog.
    http://www.kolibriexpeditions.com/birdingperu/blog
    I blog about birding, mostly from Peru, but also elsewhere; and I blog about social media for birders. Hope you like it.
    I am also adding you to my blog roll. Will appreciate reciprocal link.
    Saludos

    Gunnar

  6. 6 singraham
    03/30/2009 at 6:06 am

    Gunnar,

    I added an RSS link under my blogroll section: because of the Theme, I can not add the widget. Go figure. If I do, it wipes out everything in the sidebar except the RSS. Hope this helps. I use Chrome which has a bookmarklet java thing to add feeds to Google Reader. Regular buttons do not work. Again, go figure. I will add your link in my blogroll as well.

  7. 04/02/2009 at 8:14 am

    I like the POV. Interesting capture…


Leave a Reply

