14
Nov
09

Pic of the Day 11/14/2009

 

 

Road into Autumn Sunset

Today marks the one year anniversary of Pic of the Day, and I will have more to say on that…only…I am due on the bus for the Valley Salt Lakes fieldtrip at Rio Grande Valley Birding Festival in way too few moments. I promise a pic and a full post by evening! It has been great. I look forward to a second year.

___________________________________________________________

So, evening in Harlengen Texas, after a day of fieldtripping and optics talk at the Rio Grande Valley Birding Festival, on the 1st anniversary of my Pic of the Day blog. What started as a casual series of posts on Twitter and FaceBook, morphed into a full fledged WordPress blog within the first month, and took on it’s current form after about 3 months.

What has kept me at it, as I have mentioned before, is that I am learning with every day’s pic. The process has made me much more aware of what I am doing in the field, while capturing images, and at the computer when processing images…and, maybe most importantly, how the two: camera work and computer work interconnect, cooperate, to produce the images that are important to me. Neither dominates. Both are important. Increasingly my knowledge of what I can do at the computer influences what I do with the camera. Of course, both camera and computer are used to capture and reproduce some semblance of what I see in nature…with the emphasis on the I.  Because, of course, I am creating an image…not capturing reality. Images play with different rules than reality…if you know what I mean. Different elements, different effects, matter. In the end we judge images by image standards, and similarity to reality is only one of them…and often not the most important among them.

Anyway. I have learned. I hope you have too. I intend to learn a lot more in the coming year. And I hope you will go along with me.

This image, by the way, was taken at the end of a sunset session at the beach. I had actually visualized the image on the way in. I simply drove till it looked right. Stopped in the middle of the road. Head the camera out the window one handed. And took the image.

Sony DSC H50 at 31mm equivalent. F4.5 @ 1/40th @ ISO 100. Programmed auto.

In Lightroom, I added Vibrance and Clarity, moved the Blackpoint right, and used Sharpen Landscapes preset. I also increased exposure just slightly, and warmed the image slightly by adjusting color temperature.

From Around Home Kennebunk ME.

 

8 Responses to “Pic of the Day 11/14/2009”


  1. 11/14/2009 at 9:36 am

    Very pleasant view, colors, perspective,fall scene,warmth. Joe

  2. 11/14/2009 at 9:04 pm

    What a view! Crunchy leaves, a quiet road, sparse trees, and a sunset … it’s part of the beauty that is Autumn.

  3. 11/14/2009 at 11:47 pm

    Congratulations, on a year well spent and shared. Looking forward to the next 365 and 366 or so after that. Then we will see what we have to see. Excellent work!!!

  4. 11/15/2009 at 5:09 am

    Thanks for sharing your artistic, constructive talents. Joe

  5. 11/16/2009 at 2:44 pm

    I also want to congratulate you on your one year Pic of the Day anniversary. You’re a great encouragement to all but especially to those of us who also use a point & shoot camera. Looking forward to the next 365 days. Keep up the great work!

  6. 11/22/2009 at 3:43 pm

    I love this! Love those colors. This is the greatest time of year.


Leave a Reply

