10
Dec
09

12/10/2009

Tidal Snow: Early Light

Last pic for the First Snow set. This bend in the tidal mouth of Back Creek where it flows into the Mousam River behind Parson’s Beach in Kennebunk ME becomes a graphic element in the composition, drawing the eye past the curve back to the snow covered trees on the far side of the marsh. The low light just after sunrise just skims the marsh.

Sony DSC H50 at about 70mm equivalent for framing. F4.0 @ 1/250th @ ISO 100. Programmed auto.

Added Clarity and Vibrance in Lightroom. Blackpoint slightly right. Sharpen Landscape preset.

From First Snow 12/09.

4 Responses to “12/10/2009”


  1. 12/10/2009 at 9:44 am

    Not as interesting as your other pix.

  2. 12/10/2009 at 8:47 pm

    I disagree with JG. All about composition and light here – and lovely it is.
    I have to admit Steve – sometimes I snag your pix and use them as Desktop Backgrounds. For brief personal use, of course.
    –Marci / RGV Birding Festival

  3. 3 RJ Mere
    12/11/2009 at 8:53 am

    As a Maine Guide I spend a lot of time on the Mousam River and Parson’s Beach.

    You’ve captured the quiet energy of the river in early morning light at low tide – a time I particularly love whether I’m with a client (we call them, ‘sports’), with my dog, or alone.

  4. 12/13/2009 at 9:34 pm

    Great pics.

    I am very happy that you live there and that I live in California in the SF Bay Area.
    That’s too cold.

    I did spend my US Navy time at the South Pole, though. 52 years ago……


Leave a Reply

