30
Jan
10

1/30/2010

Look Both Ways

This is one of those somewhat challenging images to look at. It breaks composition rules right and left. The Great Blue Heron should be facing into the frame, and really should not be obscuring parts of Great Egret behind…but I could not resist the opposing hunting stares…kind of like crossed swords. Technically the challenge is dept of field, of course, and the Zeiss PhotoScope has a fixed aperture (varies with the zoom setting, but you can’t set it). I had to take what I could get. I did carefully select the focus point…and the PhotoScope just managed enough depth to provide satisfying sharpness in both birds. Actually, for a long lens, that is pretty impressive!

Zeiss PhotoScope 85FL at about 1200mm equivalent field of view. 1/530 sec. @ ISO 100. Metered at about f5 (though the real aperture was about f3)

Added Clarity and Vibrance in Lightroom. –20 Contrast. Desaturated the blue shadows on the Egret (sky reflection) using the selective saturation tool. Sharpen landscape preset. Cropped slightly from the top for composition.

From Space Coast Birding.


3 Responses to “1/30/2010”


  1. 01/30/2010 at 7:32 am

    I think it is very impressive! And sometimes rules are just made to be broken!
    I LOVE THIS SHOT!!

  2. 2 Wendy Hollands
    01/30/2010 at 8:47 am

    I think you did a wonderful job here. Great shot!!

  3. 01/30/2010 at 1:29 pm

    I agree – I like this. It’s point/counterpoint in terms of composition.


Leave a comment