29
Mar
10

3/29/2010

Laudholm Pond Panorama

I have a detailed explanation of why and how this shot was taken at Playing With Panoramas: sort of… on Point & Shoot Landscape. I was not really after the panorama effect, but I wanted a wider shot than my 28mm equivalent could provide, in order to frame the pond and sky with the white birch stands. Three shots using the Panorama mode on the SX20IS with the zoom at about 40mms, PhotoShop Elements’ PhotoMerge tool, plus final processing in Lightroom, yields this. Of course, to see it to true advantage you need to click the image and open it in the largest size you monitor will show. For comparison, here is the shot with the unaided 28mm on the Canon SX20IS.

From Around Home 2010.

4 Responses to “3/29/2010”


  1. 03/29/2010 at 7:29 am

    Works wel – I prefer the more zoomed out perspective of the first image.

  2. 03/29/2010 at 8:44 am

    Very nice panorama. The only time I’ve tried making a panorama was in Gloucester Harbor; it was 12 frames wide and didn’t turn out well at all. I bit off more than I could chew.

  3. 03/29/2010 at 1:19 pm

    I know how hard of a project this could be. Here is mine: http://nickpalomba.wordpress.com/category/photography/365-day-photo-project-photography/

    I need to update it as I have taken a picture everyday just need to post them 🙂

  4. 4 singraham
    03/29/2010 at 7:08 pm

    good for you.


Leave a Reply

