02
Sep
10

9/2/2010: Fox Pond, Maine

And so we leave rainy Germany and merry old England (also rainy) for perhaps another year, and return to home and Maine. Last weekend I drove my daughter to her first days of college in Machais, and, on the way back to Bar Harbor, where we planned to spend the night, my TomTom (on the iPhone) took me a shortcut across the mountains inland from US Route 1 and the coast. The sign as you turn on Route 182 says it is a Maine Scenic Byway, and it is indeed. The road climbs through the low coastal mountains, up and down, past streams and lakes and ponds. It was a glorious day. Good job TomTom! The only complaint I have about this shortcut is that it was, considering the wonderful scenery, too short!

This is Fox Pond, about 2/3rds of the way between the two ends of the loop of US 1 that 182 cuts off. A low angle shot with the SX20IS flip out LCD to get the water hyacinth in frame.

I used a single image tone-mapping in Photomatix to give it an HDR effect, before bringing it into Lightroom for final adjustments of Exposure, Blackpoint, Clarity, and Sharpen. I also had to straighten it a bit.

Canon SX20IS @ 28mm equivalent @ f8 @ 1/400th @ ISO 80. Aperture preferred so I could use a small f-stop for depth of field. The hyacinth was barely a foot away.

From Machias 2010.

6 Responses to “9/2/2010: Fox Pond, Maine”


  1. 2 joe giambelluca
    09/02/2010 at 8:45 am

    another beautiful pix; keep ’em coming. joe

  2. 09/02/2010 at 10:53 am

    I have a lot to learn about photography. I have a basic little digital camera..no slr and get pretty decent pix with them but I really want to go beyond that. I’m not very technical though (basic artist mind!!) so that is something I may have to struggle though..or do it the way I normally do, just try everything out and afterwards read the instructions! LOL…anyways..gorgeous, simply gorgeous.

    Ravynwolfe

  3. 5 Rafi
    09/03/2010 at 8:05 am

    Simply gorgeous


Leave a Reply

