03
Sep
10

9/3/2010: Cadillac Mountain

On the way back from dropping daughter #3 off at College, we stopped for the afternoon and night in Bar Harbor…mostly to see daughter #1 and #2. Daughter #1 lives there, and daughter #2 is working there in Acadia National Park for the summer. No visit to Acadia, of course, is complete without a drive to the top of Mt. Cadillac. Even though we only had a few hours there, after a hike around Jordan Pond (also a must as far as I am concerned), we drove to the summit on the way back to Bar Harbor and dinner. It was not a pristine day…there was a good deal of haze over the ocean, but the late afternoon/early evening light was interesting on the stone of the peak.

This is an HDR using two exposures and Photomatix Lite. In realty I am not sure I gained much through the two exposures. I am pretty sure I could have adjusted a single exposure in Lightroom for close to this effect. Still, the tone-mapping for detail in Photomatix certainly brought up all the character in the foreground rocks, and I am certain I could not have pulled up the greens in the trees to this level. The greens have always frustrated me in shots from Cadillac, since exposing for rock and sky always leaves the greens running toward black. Keeping the greens vibrant gives this shot three strong layers instead of two. This is good.

Canon SX20IS at 28mm equivalent. Two shots separated by 3 EV using the Exposure Compensation dial.

Photomatix as above. Adjusted for Blackpoint, Clarity, Vibrance, and Sharpness in Lightroom.

From Acadia 2010.

6 Responses to “9/3/2010: Cadillac Mountain”


  1. 1 Wendy Hollands
    09/03/2010 at 8:02 am

    what an awesome view!! Beautiful part of the world!!

  2. 2 Rafi
    09/03/2010 at 8:04 am

    Nice compo

  3. 09/03/2010 at 10:31 am

    Nice shot, Steve. My wife and I drove to the top of Cadillac when we were in Maine, but it was so foggy we couldn’t see a thing. Now we know what we missed. I want to spend some time with my camera in Acadia Park. Many many photo ops there, from what I could tell.

  4. 4 Donna
    09/03/2010 at 6:58 pm

    Beautiful picture! I’m ready to pack and go back.

  5. 5 joe giambelluca
    09/04/2010 at 4:35 am

    nice landscape; unusual slice of nature. joe

  6. 6 Philip E Derer
    09/14/2010 at 5:14 pm

    Question? Where did this mountain get it’s name,I’m dying to find out…


Leave a Reply

