12
Sep
10

9/12/2010: Self Portrait in the Shadow of Earl

Happy Sunday!

The morning after Hurricane Earl passed by Southern Maine was still showery and very windy, with lots of moisture hanging in the air and some high clouds building where a cold front pushed the storm further out to sea. I was out early to see what could be seen. The whole marsh behind Parson’s Beach, where Back Creek, here still full with the flood tide, flows to the Mousam, looked, in the early morning light, like it had been tousled by the retreating waves (see 9/9/2010)…producing interesting textures and patterns in the wet grasses. Here I attempted to set off the marsh patterns with a touch of vivid color from the rose-hips.

In doing so, I inadvertently created a self portrait. I try to keep my shadow out of landscapes, but for this shot I intentionally left it in. Can you see me in the rose bush? I will give you a clue…I am wearing a Tilley hat with a wide brim.

And, of course, every image I capture and publish is a self-portrait, whether I caught my shadow or not. I can not avoid intruding on the landscape I photograph…and there you go:  “avoid” and “intrude” are already casting the matter in the wrong light.

Myself, the way I see and respond, is what I bring to the image…my gift…my contribution to creation…to the creation. All any photograph says is “I saw this and it moved me…I wanted to show it to you too.” And the only honest response to any photograph is “I see it. I see what you were looking at, and why it moved you.” When the photograph is truly great, we can also say “It moved me too!”

Of course, what is moved in us is not shadow, but light…which is, I guess, why I try to keep my shadow off the landscape.

Canon SX20IS at 28mm equivalent @ f4.0 @ 1/640th @ ISO 80. Landscape program.

Recovery in Lightroom for the sky and clouds, Blackpoint right, added Clarity and Vibrance, Sharpen narrow edges, and slight crop from the bottom for composition.

3 Responses to “9/12/2010: Self Portrait in the Shadow of Earl”


  1. 1 Rafi
    09/12/2010 at 6:06 am

    You can hardly notice it.. A lovely scene..

  2. 3 Wendy Hollands
    09/12/2010 at 5:44 pm

    I hardly noticed it too. Very beautiful!!


Leave a Reply

