16
Sep
10

9/16/2010: Cape May Dawn HDR

Out on the beach with only my Canon SD4000IS, early in the morning, with the golden light of the sun flooding in under an overcast sky, I could not resist trying a handheld  HDR. Two exposures, separated by about 3.5EV using the exposure compensation dial. In hindsight I might have tried 3 exposures with a wider separation…with one exposure dialed all the way down to –2EV, but even then I doubt I could have preserved detail around the sun, and I certainly would have needed a tripod. I especially like the subtle, weathered blue of the tents in contrast to the greens of the beach plants.

Canon SD4000IS at 28mm equivalent. ISO 250.

Exposures blended with tone mapping in Photomatix. Final adjustments for Blackpoint, Clarity, Vibrance and Sharpen in Lightroom. Cropped from the bottom for composition.

From Cape May Fall 2010.

6 Responses to “9/16/2010: Cape May Dawn HDR”


  1. 1 Wendy Hollands
    09/16/2010 at 6:05 am

    oh my that is very beautiful!!

  2. 09/16/2010 at 7:58 am

    You captured this very nicely!!!

  3. 3 Rafi
    09/16/2010 at 11:13 am

    That’s gorgeous

  4. 09/16/2010 at 9:00 pm

    This is a nice composition. The sun looks like it’s on fire! Well done!

  5. 09/16/2010 at 9:07 pm

    Beautiful shot, Steve. I’m in Cape May today too. I was right at that spot a few hours later.


Leave a Reply

