17
Jan
10

1/17/2010

Merriland River Massh

Looking out over the Merriland River marsh to the sea from on of my favorite vistas at Rachel Carson NWR. I have lots of shots from here but I have generally called it the Little River Marsh. I just found out that the river in the foreground is the Merriland…it joins the Little near the point of trees jutting out o the left.

This was a very difficult shot to expose. I ended up with just a straight Programmed Auto exposure and some heavy work in Lightroom.

Fill Light for the trees, which otherwise were dark going on black, Recovery for the snow field and sky, added Clarity and Vibrance, and Sharpen Landscape preset. Pretty much standard processing. but more of everything, beginning with Fill Light.

Sony DSC H50 at 31mm equivalent. F5.6 @ 1/250th @ ISO 100.

From Rachel Carson Seasons.


2 Responses to “1/17/2010”


  1. 1 dreamfalcon
    01/17/2010 at 10:33 am

    great picture! makes me feel like I’m on holiday!

  2. 01/17/2010 at 1:20 pm

    I gess the challenge was to pull back detail in the tree trunks. It has worked. Lovely sky. I envy you the sun!


Leave a comment