05
Mar
10

3/5/2010

Little River Marsh in Winter Dress

I am hoping this particular view, dressed as it is, is soon a memory I won’t have to revisit for at least 6 months…and of course, this particular combination of storm clouds, snowy landscape, snow frosted trees, and cusp of spring light is unlikely to ever occur again. This is another shot I took too off. The other view is at the bottom and I can’t really decide which I like best. Though they are the same exact vista, the are very different images. To my eye at least.

Canon SX20IS at about 85mm equivalent. F4 @ 1/250th @ ISO 100. Programmed auto, biased just slightly for the sky.

Some Recovery for the sky, and Fill Light for the foreground. Only a touch of Blackpoint right. Added Clarity and a tiny amount of Vibrance. Exposure increased slightly for the snow.

From Around Home 2010.

And here is the other view.

This one is at 28mm equivalent, F4 @ 1/250th @ ISO 100. Programmed auto as above. Processing as above. In this one the sky is more the subject than the land.


3 Responses to “3/5/2010”


  1. 03/05/2010 at 8:56 am

    Top cropped shot is much more exciting, focuses on amazing clouds; one of those ‘glimpse into the heavens’ shots. Bottom shot is just pretty sky. IMO. KP

  2. 03/05/2010 at 4:42 pm

    Northerly winds are still blowing here … more snow expected. A proper winter, in other words …

    I find myself in two minds about these photos. The first has the diagonal of the lead in the ice. The second has the sky. Which is more important? By a narrow margin the second.


Leave a comment